Changes coming in April from the Arizona Opioid Epidemic Act
Beginning April 26, 2018, new laws go into effect regarding the prescribing and dispensing of opioids in the state of Arizona. Additionally, dispensing pharmacists are required to review the PMP record of a patient receiving a schedule II controlled substance for the preceding 12 months. Read on for more information.
Prescriber and Pharmacist Mandates Regarding the PMP
Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S.) § 36-2606 requires each medical practitioner licensed under Title 32 (i.e. MD, DO, DDS, DMD, DPM, HMD, PA, NP, ND, and OD) and who possesses a DEA license to review the preceding 12 months of a patient’s PMP record before prescribing an opioid analgesic or benzodiazepine controlled substance listed in schedule II, III or IV. Exceptions to reviewing a patient record are described in A.R.S. § 36-2606. Medical residents may register using the hospital DEA number and appropriate suffix. Prescribers must register here.
Pharmacists employed by facilities with a valid U.S. DEA registration must register for the PMP online. Effective April 26, 2018 a dispensing pharmacist in an out-patient setting is required to review the preceding 12-month PMP record of a patient* receiving a schedule II controlled substance at the beginning of each new course of treatment. *Review of a PMP report is not required for veterinary dispensing.
About the PMP
The Arizona State Board of Pharmacy Controlled Substances Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) grants access to prescribers and pharmacists so they may review controlled substance dispensing information for patients. Access is granted to individuals only—not to clinics, hospitals, pharmacies, or any other health care facility.
There is no fee to the prescriber or the pharmacist for PMP registration.